Reviews

 

Good selection of reviews on the review section of our facebook page (you can see more of them here) https://www.facebook.com/duskydeer

And also some reviews at the bottom found on various websites / camping forums. A lot emphasise  the quality of the  canvas / waterproofing and how well they shrug of heavy down pours / thunder storms please see our waterproofing video here  . Loads more great reviews / recommendations all over the web with a google search.

Review July 2018

Some excellent feedback sent in an email to us from a scout group who purchased 3 of our 4metre tents and also some photos from their previous camp ” Hi Joseph,Just wanted to say we used the bell tents for the 1st time a couple of weeks ago and could see the quality was definitely there – and so easy to use!

Liked them so much have recommended them to the Salvation Army where we meet as they were looking for tents for this summer! Will definitely be back to you if we need any more in the future.”

 

Review Published Oct 23rd 2017 (see on  our review section on facebook page – link above)

Excellent quality 5m bell tent!
I did many weeks of research into Bell Tents before I bought from Dusky Deer.
I looked into canvas thickness – treatment of the canvas used – the thickness of the centre pole – thickness of the groundsheet and ease of putting the tent up and down.
Dusky Deer bell tent quality is outstanding and in my mind the best!!
The customer service, speedy delivery and even advice regarding recommended equipment for sleeping etc helped me immensely.
I am a single mother and I spent a week in Cornwall this summer with my 3 children. Everyone loved the tent. Many a passer by on the campsite told me they had “tent envy!” The tent has a real wow factor as well as practicality. The storm on the last night didn’t affect us and whilst others were running for home, I brought our cooker inside and made all a full english breakfast.
Cant recommend this company enough.

Review Published June 1st 2017 (see on  our review section on facebook page – link at top of page)

Outstanding!! Have used my 5m bell tent twice now, a weekend trip and a week in the woods. Excellent quality which stood up to absolute flood levels downpour in thunderstorms without any difficulties. Company is superb to deal with answering any queries quickly and professionally. Strongly recommend you get your bell tent from here. Thanks

Posted: 21/07/2016

Very nice email used on site with permission from Twigs (also nice facebook post) Below, thank you for taking the time to send it:

———————————————————————————————————–

Dear Dusky Deer

we have rcvd the tent we ordered last week – it arrived incredibly rapidly after our order.

Just to say we LOVE it – It is such good quality, and such a gloriously soft colour – (the colour was the thing we were originally concerned about but we are SO pleased we got this sand colour), and so easy to put up.

We put it up in the garden to give it a soaking as instructed – and promptly spent the weekand having every single tea break, lunch, etc etc in the tent!!

Its totally brilliant.

So looking forward to our hoiday now!

thank you so much for your help and guidance in purchasing it – and prompt delivery.


Posted 27/11/2015:

Found a brilliant (and very detailed) review on digitalunity:

http://digitalunity.blogspot.co.uk/search/label/tent

It also has some really good interior ideas including some hand carved wooden chairs, fire pit and tripod (with details of where they were purchased from) There are also some lovely photos of some cute springer spaniels. In fact the whole site is an interesting read and definitely worth a look.

Posted 22/03/2016

Another fantastic review we have found on one of our 5 metre bell tents at pottyadventures blog. You can read it on the link below:

Dusky Deer 5m Bell Tent Review


Couple of nice reviews that I found on a camping forum (published below, with the link at the bottom however we have updated and have loads of great new features since these were published)

Also great feedback from Nine Acres Campsite who have 10 of our tents on their campsite for hire and from some previous customers (with photos) – find on our facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/duskydeer

 

By: Needhayley  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2014   Rating:   Date: 09/04/2015

Purchased the 2014 Buttercream one in August to go to a festival with my daughter and have since used it 3 more times for 3-5 nights each time. This is my third canvas bell tent and is superb quality. As a LARPer I see *a lot* of bell tents and this one has the best quality materials I’ve seen:

Very sturdy poles – thicker than standard and made of steel – and great, heavyweight canvas in a lovely colour (2015 ones are the more traditional sandstone colour I believe). Zipped in groundsheet is awesome, I wouldn’t go back to separate if you paid me. The bath bucket style has coped with some very water logged ground when other bells were flooding. Unzipping it for cleaning at home was much easier than a sewn-in.

Delivery was very speedy and communication good. Very nice people.

I’m considering changing to a roman/touareg style simply for easier door access when wearing ridiculous costume (for LARP) but this is my favourite bell tent make. I would recommend it 100%.


 

By: Jester-Jamie  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2014   Rating:   Date: 27/02/2015

Got this tent July last year from dusky deer and wanted to give it a proper run before I did a review.

We used it a lot last year, and a on a couple of winter camps this year and it’s excellent.

The tents a 4 metre bell tent. We bought it from this company because a friend has one of their tents and is really happy with it (they are also quite local which is a bonus!)

It’s easy to pitch and doesn’t take very long.

You get more head room than you could possibly ever need and it doesn’t roast you in the morning like all our other nylon tents.

We used to get up early to go exploring but since we bought this tent we now tend to spend much longer just sitting in it and lazing around at the campsite (the doors are also huge so you get a really good view from inside the tent)

Everything is really well made. The poles/pegs are very heavy and strong and the guide lines are also really thick. The ground sheet is also very thick and you can set it at the doorway so it is either flat at the entrance or upright which is excellent for when the ground is really wet.

It’s a rather heavy beast but unless you are planning on taking it up Everest it’s not too bad (I tend to carry the ground sheet and canvas separately so a zipped ground sheet I would say is definitely a must)

The customer service was friendly and postage was really quick. Overall great tent and great service.


Camping forum